Trying – A Pair of Poems

It’s Four in the Morning
It’s four in the morning,
The end of October.
I’m writing you now to
Finally say goodbye.
I can’t remember the last time
You and I spoke.
All I remember was that
I came home from school and
Saw my mom crying on our couch.
I had a good day this time,
So I was thinking it was something small.
Little did I know, you were gone.
In my cute, little young voice,
I asked what was wrong.
She cried some more and responded finally.
“Your grandpa died this afternoon.
A blood vessel broke
And he died before the ambulance was there.”
I remember drying for hours after.
I remember reminiscing in all my memories with you.
The strongest memory was of your breakfast.
Your special pancakes you made.
Every morning we slept over.
I miss those days.
I know it’s been six years,
But I just can’t let go.
That smell in the morning,
No matter when we woke up.
You were always cooking for us.
Always timed right.
I miss the sound of the flipper on the pans
And the sight of your smile when you turned around
And saw me standing in the kitchen door
With my eyes closing, to smell those pancakes.
So after all these years,
I’m finally getting my proper goodbye.
So, goodbye, I’ll miss you, and
I hope you move on to somewhere better.


For There Seemed
For there seemed little chance of happiness coming true
But to my shock, it ran its course straight through my heart,
And right back out the door.
It came and went in the blink of an eye,
Then it seemed to me everything had gone awry.
All I saw was the sadness around me,
It seemed to be it had drained me of everything.
From the joy to the hope and the fun the the happy overall.
There was an emptiness in my eyes that no one could place.
There was a loneliness in my actions and no one could fill it.
And when he came along, a glimmer appeared in my heart,
But I dismissed it as soon as it came.
For there seemed little chance of it coming true.
But it continued to hover amount my bones,
While all I could do was suppress it.
From the hope to the joy and the love to the wishes.
I continued to talk to him and to see him in the halls.
I continued to ignore that feeling and to simply converse.
It seemed to anyone else that we were friends,
But that little glimmer inside me pulses more and more,
The longer I knew him and the more we spoke,
It pulsed and pulsed and grew and grew.
And before I knew it,
It had taken over my thoughts and actions.
From my bones to my veins and my heart to my brain.
I was no longer in control, no longer had a choice.
I had to listen and I had to obey.
For there seemed little chance of resistance being successful.

Picture Link: weheartit.com/entry/125428541

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One thought on “Trying – A Pair of Poems

  1. Sydney,
    This made me cry!! The way you described these moments that this individual has shared with their grandfather is so touching and so real. I would know that if anything would happen to my grandparents it would devastating and I would have a lot of trouble coping with it, just like the person in this piece. And I loved how you added ” I know its been six years. But I just can’t let go.” It really helped demonstrate how deep the relationship was between the individual and their grandfather. It drew me in, as a reader, and ignited a connection between me and the piece even more. I love this piece and I’m so glad that you shared it!! Great Job!!

Leave a Reply